Well, hello there, I guess this is going to be my first post.  I’m making this blog to state why I appreciate Harry Potter, why I choose it over Twilight,and to clear any things said about Harry Potter with my own statements.. I suppose I should state my opinions of Twilight.

Basically, I’m sick of Twilight. Alright, to be honest, that’s an understatement. I despise Twilight. Yes, I’ve read all the books, so I know why I hate it. It’s a sexual “romantic”  fantasy about two lovers, one of which is Bella Swan, a ditsy Mary Sue character who depends on men to fight her battles for her. The second part of this duo is Edward Cullen, an old so-called-vegetarian vampire who climbs into her bedroom window and attracts many lovers at their school (as hinted by Jessica) and decides none of them are good enough for him. He meets Bella, who he suddenly has a constant bloodthirst for, and after he attempts to get over it, they start hitting it off. However, this makes some of the other vampires come when they play baseball, and one of these vampires decides randomly that he wants to thirst upon Bella’s blood. There’s some brief action before Bella stupidly falls for a trick the thirsty vampire pulls and he starts torturing her a little and she cries. Magically, Edward comes to try to save the day and sucks some venom out of her, and then they go home and keep it all a secret.

In the next book, New Moon, a weakly formed love triangle occurs as Edward leaves Bella. She goes numb for months until she finally gets out of the house and falls in love with a werewolf named Jacob Black, who she apparently knew from childhood. They spend some time together, but the main reason she’s with Jacob is because of an adrenaline rush, and she’s having mental problems because Edward told her not to do anything reckless. Because of that, she begins doing reckless things just for the thrill of it, and because it makes her fantasize that Edward is there with her. At the same time, Jacob is head over heels for her, but she’s so busy falling over Edward, who she believes doesn’t love her. However, he loves her and is just having a crisis with himself. Then Bella jumps off a cliff and Victoria, a female vampire that was with the first bloodthirsty vampire, is in the water, making Alice jump to the conclusion Bella dies. Then Edward goes insane and tries to kill himself, but miraculously, Bella shows up just in time to try to stop him. In doing so, a vampire oligarchy called the Volturi see Bella and find her a little bit interesting, so they say she has to become a vampire. They go home and keep it all a secret.

In the third book, Eclipse, Victoria begins trying to raise an army of foolish newborn vampires, who will be so confused that they will follow her. She carries out all her plans through a vampire named Riley, who has been a vampire for an entire year. Riley goes into Bella’s room and gets her scent, and they begin training vampires to do their dirty work. All the while, rather than trying to just find Victoria and kill her, the Cullens spend their time predicting the future to see if she’ll come or not and sit in their rich cars, doing absolutely nothing. Edward continues his romance with Bella, who loves him, but Jacob begins wasting his time trying to turn her back to him(even though he’s absolutely sure he’ll imprint, or find his soul mate, who will NOT be Bella.) All the time, Bella begins mentally debating who to go with, never even considering the option of a third, thinking that true romance is always just around the corner, which in reality is the most fucked up lie in existence. I don’t use that word often, but I feel it is entirely necessary to use it now. Then Victoria begins sending out her army, of which you can read a bit more about in The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. The Cullens unrealistically overpower them after a couple pages. Victoria goes after Bella and Edward, but Bella distracts Victoria (her only usefulness in the entire series, in my opinion) and Edward kills her. There is one girl vampire in the army they decide not to kill, but the Volturi pops out of nowhere and kills her, saying she’s broken the laws and that’s she’s an abomination, not really even giving a reason for their actions. They go home and keep it all a secret.

Oh, and Breaking Dawn. Edward marries Bella straight out of school, and takes her on a honeymoon to the beach. They have sex, but then Bella wakes up one day to find she’s pregnant with a half-vampire baby. They rush home and Jacob is very mad that he didn’t get a slice of the cake. Edward wants Bella to give up the baby, but she keeps thinking of a story Rosalie told and trusting her, even though she was a huge jerk in the past to Bella. Eventually, Edward offers that Jacob could have as much sex as he wanted with Bella as long as he gets her to forfeit the baby, which he believes will kill her.  Jacob is rather unsuccessful, and his entire family and pack hates him. He manages to break away and make his own pack with a couple other wolves. Bella goes into childbirth, which nearly kills her, but continuing with her perfect Mary Sue qualities, he makes her into a vampire right at the last minute. Then, Jacob sees the baby, who is named Renesmee after Edward and Bella’s moms, and imprints on it, believing now that it’s his only option and completely drops his love for Bella. The Volturi find out about Renesmee and use the excuse that’s she’s illegal to get the chance to go make Bella join them. Without any bloodshed, the Cullens use mental strength. They are at home, and they keep it all a secret.

What I find irksome about Twilight the most is the majority fans. That’s not to say all of the fans are terrible, and that Harry Potter fans aren’t just as bad (trust me, I do know of a few)  it’s just the majority of the fans of that series.. I have at least read Twilight and seen several of the movies, whilst a large portion will not even consider Harry Potter and blindly accuse it. I have seen some good arguments that Harry Potter isn’t good, but none of them involve Twilight being better. I understand that my view of Twilight is a bit biased, but Harry Potter lectures, in most circles, are even more so.  Twilight is a sexual fantasy, while Harry Potter is a tale of adventure, friendship, and family love with some romance on the side. There. I said it. They are completely different, to the point of which I wish we didn’t have to sit and debate which is the best. However, I’m tired of illiterate fans of Twilight not understanding what Harry Potter is and what it stands for.

TL;DR? Twilight is a terrible story for people to be reading, because it’s about how romance comes first. The characters are unrealistic, the story bland. I’ve read Twilight and I have my rights to express my opinions. The fans are driving me crazy and I wish they would consider reading something else before blindly judging us. I’m making this blog to put my word out of why I like Harry Potter.

I hope there will be not much more discussion of Twilight required on this blog. I would like to hear your opinions of any beliefs about Harry Potter, so that I can post my own thoughts on the matter. Either comment here or email me potterfirequestions@gmail.com. Thank you for coming. Feel free to link anyone here (just no plagarism!  thanks.)